I’ve been trying to find a good pattern to make trousers for W (who’s just three) for a while. When he was tiny, I used Rae’s Big Butt Baby Pants pattern (I love that name!), which was great, but after a while I wanted something more grown up. I tried the trouser patterns in Sewing For Boys, but they were huge for my slim little one, and I thought it would be just be too much trouble to make them fit. Finally I found a free pattern on Whole Grain Baby (which, unfortunately, doesn’t seem to be available any more). It is still too wide but much closer and ticks lots of boxes as it has a flat front, false fly, and great pockets. I took out an inch in width from the front and back of each of the legs and shortened the crotch about an inch as well (as in my first version he looked like he was wearing drop crotch trousers, Justin Bieber-style, which wasn’t exactly the look I was going for). Here’s his new pair in dark brown cord.

IMG_0894

These were so popular that, having tried them on, he wouldn’t let me take them off to finish the hems. So we went out all frayed. Worse things can happen.

